How to Make NFL MVP Bets: A Complete Guide

The NFL MVP is the highest honor bestowed upon a single athlete for outstanding excellence. The greatest player in the entire league for just one given season receives this honor. The MVP award doesn't include the playoffs or Super Bowl, just the regular season. In this guide to NFL MVP Bets, we'll give you a comprehensive guide on what is it, how to bet on NFL MVPs, and tell you the best sportsbooks to place your bets.

While stats and performance throughout the season are important for deciding the MVP, there's a lot more to consider when betting on this outcome. Here's what you need to know when placing a wager.

nfl generic howtobet blue banner

About the MVP – What is it and When is it Announced?

The Associated Press, or AP, selects the MVP of the National Football League. A panel including fifty sports reporters is used by the news organization to determine the NFL MVP for a particular season.

The player who gained the most nominations overall from the selection panel is named the MVP.

Every year, on the eve of the Super Bowl, the NFL Honors ceremony presents the NFL MVP Award. Other awards are also given out on this night, including Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year, for example. NFL MVP predictions are more exciting for football betting, however, and it’s the biggest award that everyone is most anticipating.

NFL MVP Odds and Favorites

NFL MVP chances frequently change from game to game as candidates' odds fluctuate during the season. Each year, quarterbacks are the main topic of MVP talk, and it's rare that any other position wins the award.

These are some of the leading candidates for the prize this year regarding NFL MVP bets.

    Past NFL MVP Winners

    Most Valuable Player awards have been given to some of the greatest players in history. Previous MVP champions over the years are listed here, and as you can see, only one hasn't been a quarterback. This means that an NFL MVP bet is usually safer when placing a wager on a QB.

    2022: Patrick Mahomes, QB (Kansas City Chiefs)

    2021: Aaron Rodgers, QB (Green Bay Packers)

    2020: Aaron Rodgers, QB (Green Bay Packers)

    2019: Lamar Jackson, QB (Baltimore Ravens)

    2018: Patrick Mahomes, QB (Kansas City Chiefs)

    2017: Tom Brady, QB (New England Patriots)

    2016: Matt Ryan, QB (Atlanta Falcons)

    2015: Cam Newton, QB (Carolina Panthers)

    2014: Aaron Rodgers, QB (Green Bay Packers)

    2013: Peyton Manning, QB (Denver Broncos)

    2012: Adrian Peterson, RB (Minnesota Vikings)

    2011: Aaron Rodgers, QB (Green Bay Packers)

    2010: Tom Brady, QB (New England Patriots)

    How to Bet on the NFL MVP

    The NFL MVP is a popular and simple wager among football bettors. To put things in perspective, NFL futures odds are released not long after the Super Bowl is finished. While it might be seemingly impossible to bet on an award a full year away, the odds are very enticing and there's a big chance of money to be made.

    During the course of the season, the odds tighten up as more information is available to bettors, such as game stats, injuries, team results, etc. This is usually the smarter way to bet, as midway through the season you'll have a rough idea of which player is performing well and which favorite is emerging.

    If you’re making a bet based on who won the Super Bowl MVP 2023, then it’s not a bad idea to choose the same person for a bet in the following year. There’s still risk, of course, as Patrick Mahomes won the Super Bowl MVP and regular season NFL MVP in 2023, but his odds aren’t looking so spectacular this season.

    It all depends if you feel like betting on a player at the start of a season for an superior reward, or waiting until it’s evident which NFL player is clearly looking like the best in the league. There are many sportsbook providers that allow you to look at the NFL MVP odds and make a bet based on these lines. DraftKings, FanDuel, BetMGM, and Caesars are just a few of the most popular betting platforms out there.

    Where to Legally Place NFL MVP Bets

    MVP Betting Strategies

    There are a few things to take into consideration when making an NFL MVP bet:

          NFL MVP Bets FAQs

          What is the NFL MVP award?
          This award is presented to the player who, in any given season, is deemed the best in the whole league. Anyone can win the award, although it's usually quarterbacks from a good team.
          Can a rookie win the NFL MVP?
          Yes, although that’s very rare and has only happened once, when Jim Brown won in 1957.
          How can I make an NFL MVP bet?
          Make a point of checking the stats and performance of the players during the season, then look at the odds to see who is the favorite from the bookmakers. You can also bet at the start of the season, but that’s harder to predict.
          Which sportsbook gives the best NFL MVP odds?
          Knowing where to bet on the NFL is important. The most popular sportsbooks at the moment are DraftKings, FanDuel, BetMGM, and Caesars, but each one has great odds and you’ll simply have to find a bet that suits you.
          About Joe Garland
          Joe Garland author profile

          Joe is a massive sports fan, but he's most passionate about the NBA (go Timberwolves), the NFL (come on Raiders), and cricket. Joe will provide only the best sports betting tips and guides to help you win big.

          Was this article helpful?

          1 Person has found this article helpful. Your feedback helps us improve our work.

          Accept Cookies

          To improve your user experience, we use cookies on our website. By continuing to use the service, you accept the use of cookies and our privacy policy.

          Additional Information
          responsible 18responsible 21responsible 21
 - Sports Betting & USA Online Gambling Guides

          We are committed to sharing our expert betting knowledge so you can have a winning chance against the bookie, the house or even naming the winner of the next Dancing with the stars.

 is part of Raketech Group - licensed and operating in PA, NJ, IN, CO, WV, MI, TN, IL, VA. Address: 263 Shuman Blvd Ste. 145, Naperville, IL 60563, United States

          Disclaimer: It is your responsibility to check gambling regulations in your jurisdiction. does not accept responsibility for factual errors that may be evident. The site contains commercial content. This website is not responsible for third-party privacy policies.